Early Career Members

The SSSA Early Career Committee works in cooperation with the Combined Early Career Committee of all three Societies. 

View the current members of the SSSA Early Career Committee.

View the current members of the ACS Early Career Committee.


Are you a motivated Early Career Member?

The Early Career Members Committee (ECMC) serves members beginning their careers - new professionals and graduate students in agronomy, crop, soil, and environmental sciences. The ECMC consists of members from each of the three societies who serve three-year terms.

ECMC Official Policy

The Early Career Member Committee (ECMC) serves many functions:

1.) A voice for Early Career Member's (ECM's) within the ACS societies and on federal policy topics.

2.) Develop programming for ECM's at the ACS annual meetings.

3.) Serve as the selection committee for the Early Career Professional Award.

4.) Prepare an article for the CSA News on a monthly basis on topics relevant to ECM's.

5.) Moderate the ECMC online discussion boards

6.) Obtain input and develop recommendations on ways to better serve Early Career Members 
      beyond the activities at the annual meetings.

Early Career Programs at the Annual Meetings in Tampa, FL

Early Career Survial Session


Read about benefits of attending the annual meetings the planned ECM activities in this recent article or by visiting the ECMC annual meetings webpage for complete details.


Early Career Discount

At this year's 2012 Annual Meetings in Cincinnati, Early Career Members (5 years since terminal degree) qualified for a discounted registration rate.

Links of interest:

Membership benefits
ACS committee opportunities
➝ Career opportunities
➝ Board of Directors meeting minutes: ASA, CSSA, SSSA
U.S. National Committee for Soil Science
➝ Christine Mirzayan Science and Technology Policy Graduate Fellowship Program - link

Recordings from the 2011 Annual Meetings in San Antonio

 Select presententation from our workshops at the 2011 Annual Meetings in San Antonio, TX:

➝ Grant Writing Navigation Workshop: AAAS, DOE, NSF, USDA
➝ How to Publish a Manuscript in ASA, CSSA, and SSSA Journals: Sally Logsdon, Warren Dick

Early Career Award Winners

2012 ASA Early Career Professional Award - Robert Stupar, University of Minnesota
2012 CSSA Young Crop Scientist Award - Twain Butler, Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation
2012 SSSA Early Career Professional Award - Jason Warren, Oklahoma State University

Early Career Professional Award Winners (award started in 2006)
before 2012, there was one award for all three Societies, starting in 2012, the Societies decided to recognize one idividual from each Society.

2011 - Chad Godsey, Oklahoma State University (profile)
2010 - Jianming Yu, Kansas State University (profile)
2009 - Todd Campbell, USDA-ARS Coastal Plains Soil, Water, and Plant Research Center
2008 - Palle Pedersen, Iowa State University
2007 - Jeff Edwards, Oklahoma State University
2006 - Joel Pedersen, University of Wisconsin-Madison