Senator Lamar Alexander Chairman Senate Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development 455 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Senator Dianne Feinstein Ranking Member Senate Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development 331 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Representative Mike Simpson Chairman House Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development 2084 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Representative Marcy Kaptur
Ranking Member
House Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development
2186 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Alexander, Ranking Member Feinstein, Chairman Simpson and Ranking Member Kaptur:

The undersigned organizations, companies and institutions write today to express our strong support for continued funding for the Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy (ARPA-E) in the FY 2018 budget and in subsequent funding cycles.

As you know, ARPA-E has been a highly innovative and effective program, successfully conducting critical research necessary to ensure the nation's future energy security and as such, enjoys strong bipartisan support. Modeled after the highly successful Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), ARPA-E supports "high-risk, high-reward" research which has the potential to drastically alter how we make and use energy in the future. ARPA-E finds innovative technologies and gives them the critical push to get to the point where industry can take over investment. ARPA-E is helping to foster groundbreaking technological innovations, including energy storage, advanced nuclear, and carbon capture and sequestration. The enthusiasm for ARPA-E's vision and nimble culture was evidenced in its eighth annual Energy Innovation Summit convening over 2,000 attendees including entrepreneurs, state and federal government officials, state and federal agencies, and investors.

As both the Subcommittees on Energy and Water Development of the House and Senate Appropriations Committees approach markup and consider funding for the FY 2018 Energy and Water Development Appropriations bill, we urge you to support our nation's energy security and competitiveness through this transformational agency and to fund ARPA-E consistent with levels approved in both the House and Senate for fiscal year 2017 of at least \$325 million.

The importance of U.S. leadership in energy technologies to our economic and energy security makes ARPA-E a tremendous competitive advantage for our nation. Stable and sustained funding is necessary to ensure this successful program continues to spearhead America's energy research.

Sincerely,

Achates Power

Advanced Energy Economy Aerodyne Research, Inc. Allied Metal Company Alveo Energy, Inc.

Ambri Inc.

American Association for the Advancement of

Science

American Chemical Society American Geophysical Union American Society of Agronomy

ASME

Aspen Aerogels, Inc.

Association of American Universities Association of Public and Land-grant

Universities
Bettergy Corp.
Birch Tree Capital
Blue Current
BlueWave Solar
BPC Action
Brayton Energy

California Clean Energy Fund Case Western Reserve University

Center for Carbon Removal Chimera Bioengineering Citrine Informatics

Clean Energy Trust
Clean Energy Venture Group

Cleantech Open Northeast Colorado State University Congruent Ventures

Crop Science Society of America

DBL Partners
Dioxide Materials

DNV GL

Duke University Econpolicy

Energy Excelerator
Energy Innovation LLC
Entrepreneur in Life Sciences
FireFlower Alternative Energy

FirstFuel Software

Gas Technology Institute

Georgia Institute of Technology

Gnosys, Inc. Greentown Labs Handy Law, LLC Harvard University Independence Solar Industrial Microbes

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers -

USA (IEEE-USA)

Invizyne Technologies, Inc Kent State University

KPCB

Lightsmith Group

Los Angeles Cleantech Incubator (LACI) Michigan Technological University

NAATBatt International

National Venture Capital Association New Hampshire Clean Tech Council

New Hampshire Sustainable Energy Association

(NHSEA)

New York Battery and Energy Storage

Technology Consortium

Newport Solar

Newton Energy Group LLC North Carolina State University Northeast Clean Energy Council

Onboard Dynamics, Inc.

Oregon BEST

Oregon State University

Otherlab

Penn State University

Phinix,LLC
Pinnacle Engines
Plant Sensory Systems

Pneubotics

PolyPlus Battery Company

Powerhouse
Prelude Ventures
PRIME Coalition Inc
Prospect Silicon Valley
ProsumerGrid, Inc.
Robert Bosch LLC

SAFCell

Sila Nanotechnologies Inc. SixPoint Materials, Inc. SLIPS Technologies Inc.

Sloane, Offer, Weber and Dern, LLP Soil Science Society of America Southwest Research Institute

Spruce Capital Partners

Starfire Energy

Stony Brook University

Swift Coat, Inc. TechNet

The Optical Society

The Texas A&M University System The University of Texas at Austin

Third Way TL Biolabs

U.S. Chamber of Commerce
University of California Berkeley
University of California San Diego
University of California System
University of California, Irvine
University of California, Los Angeles
University of California, Riverside

Yield10 Bioscience Inc.

University of Colorado Boulder

University of Delaware University of Georgia

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

University of Maryland University of Pennsylvania University of Rochester University of Tennessee University of Vermont University of Washington

Urban Future Lab/ ACRE Incubator

Vanderbilt University

Volute, Inc.

Cc: Senators McConnell, Schumer, Cochran and Leahy

Cc: Representatives Ryan, Pelosi, Frelinghuysen and Lowey

Senator Mitch McConnell Senate Majority Leader 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Senator Chuck Schumer Senate Minority Leader 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Senator Thad Cochran Chairman Senate Committee on Appropriations 113 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Senator Patrick Leahy Vice Chairman Senate Committee on Appropriations 437 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Representative Paul Ryan House Majority Leader 1233 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Representative Nancy Pelosi House Minority Leader 233 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Representative Rodney Frelinghuysen Chairman House Committee on Appropriations 2306 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Representative Nita Lowey Ranking Member House Committee on Appropriations 2365 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515