Soil Science Society of America Webinars


WATCH LIVE OR LATER!

 

Registration for the webinars includes access to the live webinar and a link to a recording of the webinar.
The recording link will be emailed to you and will be available approximately one week from the scheduled date.
This link will be valid for 30 days and can only be used by the registrant.

 

Webinars are delivered via GoToMeeting. Click on the webinar series title below to receive more information.
When registering, click the webinar title for more information.

Questions, please contact Michele Lovejoy at 608-268-4947 or by email.

 

Marketing Yourself and your Business
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Starts at 1:00 pm Eastern/12:00 Noon Central/11:00 am Mountain/10:00 am Pacific

How do clients know about you and what you do through your business?  They need to hear a compelling story that meets a need.  How to do that effectively and consistently will be a focus of this SSSA webinar along with discussions about market planning, branding, mission focus and messaging strategies.  The speaker will bring real world examples gained across multiple professions that highlight the principles and practices used regardless of the products or services being sold.

The webinar will be worth 1.0 CEU in Professional Development for CCAs/CPAgs and 1.0 CEU in Professional Meetings for CPSS/CPSC. Cost of the webinar is $25.00 for members and certified professionals and $40.00 for non-members.  Register now!

4Rs Nutrient management - In and out of Season webinar series
Thursdays, June 18 and 25, July 2, 16, 23 and 30, 2015 - Some dates have changed
Starts at 1:00 pm Eastern/12:00 Noon Central/11:00 am Mountain/10:00 am Pacific

Everybody is talking about 4Rs, and the importance of policing ourselves before others do. This 6-webinar series will review the essentials of Right Source, Right Rate, Right Place, Right Time, and build upon the 4R Nutrient Management Planning (4R NMP) performance objectives to provide practical information the planner can use year-round in nutrient management recommendations.

CCAs:  This series also can be used to prepare for the specialty certification exam (available in IA, IL, IN, MI, MN, and WI) which will be offered for the first time in August 2015.

Each webinar will be worth 1.0 CEU in Nutrient Management for CCAs/CPAgs and 1.0 CEU in Professional Meetings for CPSS/CPSC. Cost for the each individual webinar is $25.00 for members and certified professionals and $40.00 for non-members.  Cost for the series is $135.00 for members and certified professionals and $216.00 for non-members.  Register now!

Upcoming Webinars

Dust in the Wind/Blowin' in the wind
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Starts at 1:30 pm Eastern/12:30 pm Central/11:30 am Mountain/10:30 am Pacific

Dust – BAD! Blowing – BAD! BMPs you can use this fall to protect the land next spring to keep your soil on the field and not “in the wind”.  The webinar will be worth 1.0 CEU in Soil and Water Management for CCAs/CPAgs and 1.0 CEU in Professional Meetings for CPSS/CPSC.  If you are interested in this webinar, please contact Michele Lovejoy.

To Test or Not to test, That is the Question Webinar series
Thursdays, September 17 and 24 and October 1, 2015
Starts at 12:30 pm Eastern/11:30 am Central/10:30 am Mountain/9:30 am Pacific

This webinar series will give you the low-down on Soil Sampling, Testing, and nutrient recommendations.  Each webinar will be worth 1.0 CEU in Nutrient Management for CCAs/CPAgs and 1.0 CEU in Professional Meetings for CPSS/CPSC.  If you are interested in this series, please contact Michele Lovejoy.

Are you dryland or rainfed? webinar series
Thursdays, October 15, 22 and 29, 2015
Starts at 1:30 pm Eastern/12:30 pm Central/11:30 am Mountain/10:30 am Pacific

Is there a difference between rainfed and dryland production? Is there a line? Can you see it? This series will examine the unique challenges of regions where producing an annual crop on growing season precipitation is not always possible and in which water conservation becomes the primary focus of all management decision.  Each webinar will be worth 1.0 CEU in Soil and Water Management for CCAs/CPAgs and 1.0 CEU in Professional Meetings for CPSS/CPSC.  If you are interested in this series, please contact Michele Lovejoy.

Gypsum: Fact, fiction and NRCS Guidelines webinar series
Thursdays, November 5, 12 and 19, 2015
Starts at 1:30 pm Eastern/12:30 pm Central/11:30 am Mountain/10:30 am Pacific

With the availability of gypsum as a by-product of coal-fired electricity production, some are exploring its potential benefits beyond remediation of sodic soils. This webinar series will look at research results from on and off the farm, and close with a look at the new NRCS Guidelines for gypsum.  Each webinar will be worth 1.0 CEU in Soil and Water Management for CCAs/CPAgs and 1.0 CEU in Professional Meetings for CPSS/CPSC.  If you are interested in this series, please contact Michele Lovejoy.

Evapotranspiration - Mysteries Revealed? Webinar Series
Thursdays, December 3 and 10, 2015
Starts at 1:30 pm Eastern/12:30 pm Central/11:30 am Mountain/10:30 am Pacific

Evapotranspiration is used in the water balance method of irrigation scheduling. But for many, ET numbers just spring out of a black box. This webinar series will examine the primary methods used to estimate evapotranspiration, and how those values are used to predict crop water use.  Each webinar will be worth 1.0 CEU in Soil and Water Management for CCAs/CPAgs and 1.0 CEU in Professional Meetings for CPSS/CPSC.  If you are interested in this series, please contact Michele Lovejoy.

 

If you have any questions, please contact Michele Lovejoy, e-mail: mlovejoy@sciencesocieties.org or phone: 608-268-4947.

Suggestions for online educational topics?  Please let us know what they are by contacting Luther Smith, Director of Certification and Licensing Programs.

View other education opportunities via our Societies Calendar.

Soil Science Society of America Educational Programs

American Society of Agronomy Educational Programs

American Society of Agronomy Webinars

Copyright and Trademark Information for Educational Materials

© 2015 Soil Science Society of America, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

All content included on this site, such as text, graphics, logos, button icons, images, digital downloads, and software is the property of Soil Science Society of America, Inc. or its content suppliers and is protected by copyright laws. The compilation of all content on this site is the exclusive property of Soil Science Society of America, Inc. and is protected by copyright laws. All software used on this site is the property of the  Inc. or its software suppliers and protected by copyright laws.

The Soil Science Society of America, Inc. logo is a registered trademark of the Soil Science Society of America, Inc. All other brands and names are the property of their respective owners.